Public Land Advisory Committee

The Public Lands Advisory Committee consists of State Representatives, appointed by the President, from each state represented in the Federation. These Representatives report to the President, and the Committee does not have a formal Chair. Each Representative also may appoint additional members to their respective state Committees. The State Representatives and their committee members will be responsible for monitoring use, as it pertains to rockhounds and collectors, of public lands. Such land not only includes federal parcels such as that managed by the Bureau of Land Management and the U.S. Forest Service, but land managed by smaller entities such as states, counties, cities, and others.  For the AFMS Land Use Policy click here.

Dr. Alex Schauss, (2019) Tucson Gem and Mineral Society, Inc.
1040 E. 4th St., University of Arizona,Gould-Simpson Bldg., Room 208, Tucson, AZ 85721-0077, 520*621*6024, 253*380*8772,

Colorado, Nebraska, N. Dakota
Mike Nelson – (Chair) (2019) Colorado Springs Mineralogical Society
645 Popes Valley Dr, Colo. Springs, CO 80919, 719*522*1608,

Jared Kyner, (2018) North Central Kansas Rock & Gem Club
201 E. Kansas St. Hanover KS 66945; 785*410*7297 or 785*337*2324

Nevada, Utah
Jack Johnston, (2019) R.O. C. K., Salt Lake City, UT
4091 W Swensen Farm Dr, Riverton, UT 84096


Stan Nowak, (2019) Enid Gem & Mineral Society
2805 Sage Dr. Enid, OK 73701; 580*484*2785;

South Dakota
Brandon Nelson, (2019) Western Dakota Gem & Mineral Society
1607 Sioux Ave. Rapid City, SD 57701; 605*595*3990;

Richard Gerow, (2019) Riverton Mineral and Gem Society, Inc.
PO Box 1552, Riverton, WY 82501,


All phone numbers and email addresses have been altered to reduce the chance of being found in searches used by scammers. In the emails, the “@” has been replaced by “~at~” and the phone numbers have been separated by an *. When using this information, you will need to put the information in its proper format for it to work properly.

Previous page: State Directors Next page: Uniform Rules Committee